Spread the love
*By Kazeem Awojoodu, Ibadan.
CBN Lagos FC has again clinched trophy at the just concluded Governor’s Cup.
SWIndependentmews.com.ng reports that the 40th edition of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Governor’s Cup ended with a funfair at Lekan Salami Sports Complex Adamasingba Ibadan as CBN Lagos FC defeated CBN Abuja FC to clinch their tenth trophy’s of the competition.
***Spectators at the main bowl of Lekan Salami Sports Complex Adamasingba Ibadan….
The CBN Governor’s Cup football competition according to CBN Governor is one of the sporting event that was introduced by the bank towards developing the physical and mental well-being of staff, fostering camaraderie and good inter-personal relationships and promoting the game of the football in the country.
CBN Lagos State team on Saturday in a penalty shoot-out beaten their Abuja counterparts with 4 -2. The match which ended in 1-1 draw after 90 good minutes of fierce encounter saw the CBN Lagos FC clinched their tenth trophies to  become all time winners of the tournament since it’s inception in 1981.
SWIndependentnews.com.ng Editor-in-Chief, Kazeem Awojoodu, who was at the venue of the event to monitor the match reports that the 40th edition of the competition commenced on Monday, July 26, 2021 on a full round format with the participation of 38 branches of the bank and it’s headquarter office, with preliminary matches played between July 26 and August 14, 2021 whilst the Quarter and Semi-Final matches played on August 14 and 31 respectively.
The finals of the competition was witnessed by some top officials of the bank as well as ex-Internationals and former Super Eagles Stars, “The Headmaster” Mr. Mutiu Adepoju and shots stopper  Ike Sorunmu.
In his remarks at the event, the Central Bank Governor, Mr. Godwin Emefiele who was ably represented by Director, Legal Service Department, Mr. Kofo Alada Salam said, “This morning, we watched the final match of the 40th edition of the CBN Governor’s Cup Football Competition between CBN Lagos FC and CBN Abuja H/O FC. The competition which involved all the Branches and the Head Office, kicked off in eight (8) centers, namely Akure, Ilorin, Asaba. Kano, Kaduna, Bauchi, Enugu and Makurdi.
The significance of the competition, reflected in the Bank’s Corporate Social Responsibility and derived from its sponsorship of the All Financial Institutions Football Competition, remains a testament to the Bank’s contributions toward the development of sports in the Country.
“The CBN team that participates in this Nationwide Competition is usually selected from the participating teams in the Governor’s Cup Football Competition. We have also been in the forefront of supporting and developing sports through our sponsorship of other events which include the CBN Lawn Tennis Open and CBN Golf tournaments.
Location for the Finals of this annual competition is usually rotated among the Bank’s Branches in the various geographical zones, signifying the Bank’s support for the promotion of sporting activities amongst groups and corporate organizations in all parts of the Country. Consequently, CBN Enugu (South East) hosted the Finals in 2019.
“The competition could not hold in 2020 due to the Covid-19 pandemic. We are happy that Ibadan in the South West is hosting the competition this year.”
“I trust you all enjoyed the First Place Match between CBN Lagos FC and CBN Abuja H/O FC and I believe that you were not disappointed with the skills exhibited by both teams.”
“Nevertheless, as in every game, there is always a winner and a second best, and in this case as you all witnessed CBN Lagos FC has again won for the trophy for tenth times, while Abuja is second. Emefiele said.
Announcing the prizes for the winners Mr. Emefiele said, the winners of the finals will receive a trophy, gold medals and a cash prize of N800,000.00, while the second and third place winners will go home with Silver and Bronze medals as well as N600,000.00 and N400,000.00. respectively. The 4th place team will receive the sum of N200,000.00.
The CBN Governor  however applaud the Oyo State Government under the leadership of Engineer Seyi Makinde for providing support for the final of the competition.
He said, on behalf of the Board, Management, and Staff of the Central Bank of Nigeria, I thank His Excellency, the Executive Governor of Oyo State, His Excellency Seyi Makinde, the officials of the Oyo State Football Association, Nigerian Referees Management of the Adamasingba stadium, Ibadan and all other stakeholders for  their assistance in the successful organization of the competition.
The CBN Dutse FC emerged the Most Disciplined Team of the Competition and won Bronze with cash prize of N400,000.00 as the 3rd place runner, the Abuja CBN FC won Silver, with the sum of N600,000.00 as the runners-up, CBN Lagos FC went home with gold trophy with the sum of N800,000.00.
Most valuable player of the competition so far is Aliyu Bello of Abuja FC, while Hassan Aliyu emerged the Highest Goals Scorer of the competition with eight goals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.