Spread the love

 *By Admin.

The Senate has constituted committee on Sexual Harassment of students.

Read Also: Shocking As Court Sacks Gov. Umahi, Deputy From Office Over Defection 

9Janewshub.com.ng gathered that the Senate on Tuesday constituted a Seven-man committee on the Sexual Harassment of Students in Tertiary Institutions.

Sexual Harassment in tertiary institutions Prohibition Bill was  earlier passed in 2020.

Read Also: 2022 Int’l Women’s Day: Oyetola Keeps Breaking Gender Bias In Osun – Egbemode

The Bill which was sponsored by the Deputy Senate President, Ovie Omo-Agege (APC Delta Central).

The President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, announced the membership of the conference committee at the start of plenary proceedings.

Members of the conference committee are expected to meet with their counterparts in the House of Representatives to harmonize the two versions of the bill passed by both chambers.

Senator Micheal Opeyemi Bamidele (Ekiti Central), has been appointed to Chair Committee, while other members include the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Women Affairs, Senators Betty Apiafi, Stella Oduah, Abubakar Kyari, Suleiman Umar, Suleiman Abdu Kwari, and Kola Balogun.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.