Spread the love
*By Admin. 

President Buhari has sworn in six INEC Commissioners.

9Janewshub.com.ng reports that President Muhammadu Buhari has just sworn in Retired Major General Abubakar Alkali, Okeagu Nnamdi and four others as national Commissioners of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Read Also: (Photos):In Enugu Unknown Hoodlums Set INEC Office On Fire

Buhari sworn in the Commissioners shortly before the commencement of the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting at the Presidential Villa Abuja.

Names and details of the sworn-in Commissioners include Mohammed Haruna (Niger State), Mrs Agbamuche Mbu (Delta), Okeagu Nnamdi (Abia), retired major General Abubakar Alkali (Adamawa), Prof Rada Gumus (Bayelsa) and Sam Elumeku (Ogun).

Read Also: 2023: Umahi Visit Buhari, Declares Presidential Ambition(PHOTOS)

Briefing journalists over the development, the INEC Chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu said Nigerians should expect the best out of INEC, now that the Commission has the full complement of its Commissioners.

He said: “Well, it’s a good day for the Commission, with the swearing in of the six National Commissioners, we have the full complements of 12 National Commissioners.

“It’s coming three days to by-elections in four states of the Federation and as we plan for the Ekiti and Osun governorship elections.

Read Also: AMLSN Commends Buhari Over Intervention Funds For Establishment Of Molecular Laboratories 

“As we continue to prepare for the 2023 general elections, we’ll go on firing on all cylinders now that we have the full complement of commissioners and Nigerians should expect the best out of the Commission.” Yakubu said.

Present at the inauguration of the Commissioners were Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan and Speaker, House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila.

Read Also: Buhari Condemns Botched Coup In Guinea-Bissau 

Secretary to Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, Chief of Staff to the President, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari and some Ministers also attended the inauguration of the INEC Commissioners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.