Spread the love

*By Kazeem Awojoodu, Ibadan.

Oyo state govt has commenced distribution of free exercise books to students.

9Janewshub.com.ng reports that the Executive Governor of Oyo State, Engineer Seyi Makinde has commenced the distribution of customized exercise books to students of Public Secondary Schools and Technical Colleges for the 2021/2022 Academic session in the state.

The Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Barrister Rahman Abiodun Abdu-Raheem, during the flag off ceremony, held on Wednesday at the Conference Room of the Ministry, recounted that Governor Seyi Makinde’s essence of investing in the laudable project is to enhance effective learning and support quality academic activities, with a view to improving performance in the part of learners.

The Commissioner described flag off, through Oyo state Education Trust Fund (OYO ETF) as another forward leap in the history of education in the state, as this will assist parents in reducing the cost of education of their children.

He reiterated the commitments of the present administration to  sustain it’s drive for quality education in the state. Barrister Abdu-Raheem noted that despite the COVID-19 pandemic, Engineer Makinde had invested much fund on personnel and education materials from the OYO ETF’s purse, so as to bring greater development to the sector.

While declaring the commencement of the distribution of the free books, also commending OYO ETF for ensuring good collaboration between government and relevant stakeholders,  called on all stakeholders to join hands with the OYO State ETF, at moving  the education sector to a greater heights.

The Chairman, Oyo State Education Trust Fund, Barrister Olakanmi Isiaka Gbadamosi, ably represented by the Executive Secretary of the Agency, Mr. Adekunle Taiwo, commended GovernorMakinde for his proactiveness and support for the Agency.

He described Makinde as an idealist and a federalist, who believes so much on socio economic development of his people.

He disclosed that the state government has been the main donor to the Trust Fund, closely followed by the state owned Tertiary institutions and some Philanthropists, calling on all individuals to see education as life itself, which requires adequate collaborations.

The various schools represented at the flag off ceremony include, Government Technical College, Ibadan, Queen of Apostles Grammar School, Oluyoro, Community High School, Ologuneru, Government College, Ibadan, Queen School, Ibadan, Bishop Phillips Academy, Iwo road Ibadan, and Ansar-ul Deen High School.

Dignitaries at the occasion include Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, Mrs C.A Abioye, PS/Inspector Generals of Education of zones 1,2,3, MrAdeniyi Olusanjo J. , Mr Binuyo L.A and Mrs Oluikun Fausat Ayobami respectively, Chairman Oyo State Association of Nigeria Conference if Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPSS) represented by Mr Akinade Akin.

Notable Directors in the Ministry, Parents /Teachers Association of Nigeria, represented by Mr Oyawale Isaac Adebayo and host of others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.